In the Article below you will see that our high school students, Maria Suarez-Nieto and Matthew Bec, came to complete some research in our field. Maria and Matthew not only dedicated their time to our lab, but also put in the utmost proffesional effort at such a young age. As a part of their program they were to present their work, where they gave well educated presentations. We were very sad to see them go, but happy to see their accomplishments. The lab looks foward to the next set of High School Students to come help with operations.

howardThe Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology welcomes new Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) High School Scholars. Smita Bhattacharjee (from John A. Ferguson High School) and Megan Zou (from Ransom Everglades School) started their research training in the laboratory of Dr. Daunert. In addition, Maria Suarez-Nieto (from Medical Academy for Science and Technology, MAST@Homestead) and Matthew Bec (from Belen Jesuit Preparatory School) joined Dr. Toborek’s laboratory.

Dr. Toborek was invited to serve as an Expert Author for the US EPA/IRIS assessment of non-cancer health hazards of PCBs. The goal of the program is to conduct comprehensive human health assessments that evaluate risk information resulting from exposure to specific chemical substances found in the environment (

LucDr. Luc Bertrand received postdoctoral fellowship from the American Heart Association, the Greater Southeast Affiliate, which serves Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee and Puerto Rico. Total of 93 applications were submitted for the postdoctoral fellowship but only 15 funded. Luc’s proposal received the priority score of 1.24 and 0.01 percentile rank.


 alt=Congratulations are in order for several BMB graduate students, post-docs, and faculty after the recent Society for Personalized Nanomedicine (SPNM) 3rd Annual Symposium! Graduate student Trajen Head, from the laboratory of Dr. Sylvia Daunert, received the 2016 SPNM Early Career Investigator in Personalized Nanomedicine Award.